personal and social capability

Personal and Social Capability ACARA

Real life self-awareness assessment – Year 8

Leave a comment

self-awarenessI used my sheet today for 30 minutes in class. It was hard going particularly the first element:

examine influences on and consequences of their emotional responses in a learning, social and work-related contexts and the fourth one:

predict the outcomes of personal and academic challenges by drawing on previous problem solving and decision making strategies and feedback from peers and teachers .

The other two I could explain quite easily and my year 8s got it. The first one was particularly difficult to get across to year 8s because it is actually quite complex and probably needs to be said in a number of indicators. The fourth one took a little time to explain but they understood that one more easily than the first. On the whole they rated themselves modestly with all the indicators. I had the impression at the time I was doing it that it was not going to well, but now I have had a chance to read the responses then I am more than happy that the time I offered in class was well spent. Some realised they needed more sleep so they could deal with emotional responses. Some realised they needed to ask more questions and ask for more help. Some realised it was important to bring a positive attitude to the learning environment and that a happy demeanour increased their chances of doing well. What it did highlight was they were on a learning continuum and had a chance to intervene and better themselves. Monday of next week we shall look at the goal setting from this exercise. On the following Monday we’ll take a look at self-management. This was new ground for me and so although I didn’t feel especially comfortable in class this morning, I did have the skills to see it through and then realise the students had benefited from this. The image shows some of the feedback I got.

Author: CathyW

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

