personal and social capability

Personal and Social Capability ACARA

Self-management

Leave a comment

I am ready this time! Last time it would have been really helpful to watch the video on self-awareness  by Roger Reece before I tackled self-awareness with my year 8s last week. It is not that I am on unfamiliar ground, but Roger Reece has such a clarity of expression that it would have been helpful to see it first. This time I have watched the video on self-management and his capacity to create context and continuity is really very good. I know he has an adult audience, but nevertheless, I am strengthened in my approach by seeing someone who is an expert in the field with some good quality classroom skills. My Year 8s will need different examples and I shall need to couch it all in terms which suit them. Now I can see how you build from one to the other, it has made my life easier . The quote by Tony Robbins is very apt:

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.”

I am pretty confident my year 8s will be able to relate to that. Once we have done the self-management self assessment, we shall go on next week to create goals for ourselves for the personal capabilities.

Author: CathyW

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

