personal and social capability

Personal and Social Capability ACARA

Use the same language

Leave a comment

PAS

My image via befunky.com

I have worked with the indicators of the personal capability since I introduced them to my Year 8s. I now consider the time I spent to explain what they meant and for us to have a common understanding of the indicators to have been time well spent. When you are in a group or organisation , it is really good to know you are all marching to the same beat and interpreting things in the same way. The common ground established through agreed understanding is important to self-regulation and for helping others to be team players.  My belief is I need to do this at the beginning of the school year with all of my classes. It would be good for all students to have the same explanations at the beginning of a school year so that we are all using the same language for the personal and social capability. Once you have that understanding and common ground the conversations seem to flow very easily. So, my  belief at this stage , about teaching the Personal and Social capability   is that it creates some real advantages because the common language across a school means:

1.Personal capability is connected to social capability is connected to ethical behaviour is connected to achieving or not achieving as an individual or group

2.There is a common language and understanding which a group can use for self- regulation

3.There is a common language which an individual can use to get help and support

4.Individuals can understand how relationships are formed

5.There is a logical and agreed way for managing self and others

Author: CathyW

Adelaide based professional. Lived here most of my life. I have been a teacher of French, English and German since 1974 and value the capacity of the classroom to write on the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

